copper went blue!

Started by Trudi, June 29, 2009, 02:26:43 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Trudi

Hi

I'm very new to fusing - but I thought that any copper would turn to red under glass - i made 2 pieces and they both went blue!!

The other one won't show up too well as it's on a black bacground.

While I was expecting red - I really like the blue in this one!! Is there a reason why it's blue? Could it be to do with black??

Thanks

Trudi

Zeldazog

Trudi, I sometimes get it red, others that gorgeous greeny, blue, and I have even had a combination.

Not sure why though! 

I don't think its a reaction with the other glass as I have had it occur on same colour but both ways (if you get what I mean - on two same white bases I got two different copper colours come out).

And I can't even say its something to do with hold times, or soak times, but it could be. 

I also wonder if its something to with if oxygen has or hasn't got to the copper before the glass has started to melt, seeing as copper goes green in reduction.  I made a set of six coasters for someone, and she fortunately she didn't mind what colour they came out, so long as they were all the quite similar - the pair she ordered them from were one mainly red and another that had gone half and half!

So I was meticulous in which way I faced the glasses, as most of them have a smoother side, so I made sure they were all the same so they got the same amount of oxygen, in case that is the reason.

This was the first pair that I hadn't been meticulous about, as I didn't know this was going to happen:

You can just see that the top one has more green on one side, the bottom one was all red.  The only explanation I have is the air thing.

Lovely pendant!

Trudi

Thanks for that!!

And I really like the cool 2 tone effect on the coasters! I guess that's the beauty of working with glass, you don't always know what you're going to get!

T

Margram