workstation

Started by Louise Menzies, June 04, 2009, 03:09:37 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Louise Menzies

Hello

I am new to lampworking although i have been making jewellery for nearly 2 years now!

I am going on a lampwork course at the end of June with Diana and Sally and I'm very excited, although i am going to wait until after the course before buying my kit encase it doesn't work for me!

I am worrying about where to put my workstation?!?

I have a spare room at my mums house (which terrifies me indoors) or putting it in my BFs garage (who's dad needs to trust me with gas and fire..how to persuade him?) and if i cant do it there i don't know where else to look :S I really want to make something of this as it keep me on my toes and stops me becoming lazy! :-\

Can anyone suggest anything?

Louise x
Louise x
www.facebook.com/tootsieshandmade www.tootsieshandmade.etsy.com http://tootsieshandmade.blogspot.com

lampworklover

Hi Louise, glad you found us!

Can't really make a suggestion, but from personal experience I wouldn't recommend using a carpeted room! I'm temporarily in our dining room until we move house and have managed to scorch the carpet a couple of times  :o

I know several people use their kitchens quite happily, is that an option?

Steampunkglass

Quotehave managed to scorch the carpet a couple of times 
same goes also for wooden floorboards  ::) However things do tend to 'bounce' better on wood, concrete is a little safer but then that's the trade-off if you drop glass it's going to get broken. However mostly it's your desk/table you should try to make sure is heat protected.