Hothead and propane setup

Started by glansin, May 18, 2009, 05:41:27 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

glansin

Hello, I am new to beadmaking and have been working with a Hothead torch on a MAPP canister. After getting fed up with the gas 'running out' so quickly I decided to upgrade to a propane setup. I bought the adapter from Tuffnell Glass to connect the torch to the hose, then bought hose and regulator and rented a 3.9kg tank of propane from my local gas supplier. The man there wasn't sure what regulator I'd need and the one he gave me says this on the top: (ingoing pressure) 2.6-16bar, (outgoing pressure) 0.35-2bar. When I got it home and tried it out, the gas wouldn't light. The regulator is turned up, the gas tank is turned on and the hothead is turned on but it sounds like there's not much gas coming out. I took the whole lot back to the gas supplier but the assistant there had no idea. When we took the hothead off there was lots of gas coming out so we know the gas is getting that far. After looking at this forum I tried blocking off the holes round the torch and we got the flame to light, but when I uncovered the holes it would go out again. Please can somebody tell me where I'm going wrong??!!

Billie

Hmmmm.... I'm sure the regulator I had from Martin on my HH was a 4 bar and I had it opened 3/4's to full so it could be if you have a 2 bar it's not enough.  Might be best to talk to Martin  :)

hollergrafik

glansin

Hello, thanks for the swift responses, I really appreciate it. I have emailed Martin but he didn't know what the problem could be. The man in the shop didn't think the regulator was the problem.

sarah t