Advice on buying a kiln

Started by DonnaMarie2805, May 17, 2009, 01:12:07 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

DonnaMarie2805

Hi my name is Donna,

I am wanting to get started fusing glass and would like some advise on which is the best kiln to go for as I'm a beginner.  I hope to do panels and plates, and decorative items using moulds etc.  I don't want to go for anything too small as I am hoping to do larger items as I progress!  I have been looking at a few different models and wondered if anyone can help guide me as to which is the best buy.  The Skutt Firebox 14 14.5" x 6.5", Skutt HotStart Pro 15" x 6.5" and the Kilncare Hobbyfuser 420 x 420 x 200mm (although its a lot more money, but thought it might be better buy, as larger interior) and the Paragon Fusion 8 17.5" x 9" are the ones I have been viewing.  I also saw a Paragon Pearl 18, but didn't see the internal measurements on the sellers website.  As I am hoping to set up in my utility room or garage I will just be running it on a normal household plug.  What maximum temperature is recommended for a fusing kiln, to have a decent model that will perform for many years and which is best for even temperature top or front opening?

Any advice will be greatly appreciated!

Thank you.

Donna

Zeldazog

Hi Donna

Welcome to FHF.

Firstly, if you're running off household plug, you can discount the Pearl is it needs a seperate power supply.

According to here, the normal Fusion 8 needs a 30A supply, (so I think that means hardwired in like a cooker) - they don't recommend the "lightweight" 13amp version, but I don't know about it.