Pottery Glazes for Glass?

Started by Obim, January 31, 2009, 01:51:03 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Obim

Hello Peeps a quick question from a newbie to your site,

I'm quite new to working in glass but have succesfully combined some of my other skills in wood and pottery.  I was wandering if anyone has any information on whether commercially available pottery glazes (there are thousands and thousands of these) can be successfully used in fused glass projects either as an inclusion or externally on work? Has anybody tried, with or without success? Or can anybody direct me to a website about it or share personal experience?

Will probably start experimenting but dont have my own kiln as yet :)

Sorry if there is a thread on this already - but I tend to jump straight in:)

Obim

Mary

Hi Obim!

I think the problem might be the coe, making them incompatible. When using enamel you have to use the right one for your glass, otherwise you get cracks. I don't imagine pottery glazes will need consistent known coe (coefficient of expansion) the way glass does. Sorry!

Zeldazog

What Mary said basically, and of course glazes contain other ingredients.

I tried jewellers enamel as an inclusion and surface treatment and both cracked.

I did successfully use a ready mixed ceramic screen printing ink onto glass, but although it fused properly to the surface (it would have to be ground off), it feels different on the surface and is dull rather than shiny - but so far, two years on and it hasn't cracked!

Of course, these things are always worth a go - give it a try and show us the results!

dinah46

Hi Obim welcome to the madhouse :D

I haven't tried any ready mixed glazes but have bought oxides etc from pottery supply sites. It's a case of trial and error I'm afraid as there doesn't seem to be a lot of readily available info around.

I use a lot of copper and cobalt oxides with greenhouse glass and have used other oxides with varying degrees of success. Happy experimenting :)