Advice needed on finishing PMC/glass beads

Started by Black Heart Beads, April 12, 2008, 09:37:04 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Black Heart Beads

Hi, I'm new to using PMC. Although I know how to finish PMC beads I wondered if any of you had used it with lampwork beads and if so how do you finish them?

The photos show what I've been working on lately.

The heart is covered in PMC3 which I have brushed and although I like the finish for this bead I would like to get a smooth look on some of the other ones I've done. I have some embossing tools I'm going to have a go with, but the beads take so long to make and burnishing by hand will take ages. Do any of you use a tumbler and if so do you think it would work on these beads? The gap between the bumps is very small.

The goddess has a vine wrapped around her. I have tried to make it go around the contours of her body so that the PMC has a good grip on the glass. They are brushes quite harshly and it seems firmly attached. Do you think these would also survive tumbling? Is tumbling suitable for irregular shaped beads?

Do any of you use anything else? I don't want to get a tumbler unless its handy for doing these sorts of beads as I'm not intending to do PMC on its own.

Thanks for reading and any advice will be gratefully received.

ebj

Those are STUNNING. I have a tumbler and I bung most of my metal clay work in it as long as its not too delicate. It has stainless steel shot in it and I dont know what that does to lampwork, but I am happy to bung a lampwork bead in it next week when I get to my studio, and let you know lol. Tumbling wont give you a mirror finish or even make the surface smooth, but  it would make it shiny. And I'm not sure if the gaps between the glass on the heart bead would be a little small for the tumbler to get to.

Have you thought of oxidising these at all with liver of sulphur? It would look great with the goddess. x
Emma

Art Clay Senior Instructor & Lampworker