Lustre

Started by Flyingcheesetoastie, September 30, 2009, 02:04:26 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Flyingcheesetoastie

I've had a commission for a bowl and the designer wants a gold shimmer to one part of the design, so I was thinking lustre but I've never used it before.  Can anyone advice on any of it really as I'm working blind on where to order, what to get, firing temps, application, all of it really!

The bowl is in 8mm float glass with screenprinted outlines and then this part which will be hand painted.  Then it's slumped, twice to get the curve it needs.

Thanks all!

Rachel x

lorrainelee

How about mica powder?

Lorraine

Flyingcheesetoastie

I'm not fusing the glass so mica is not really an option, hence going for lustre.

Zeldazog

I can get information on ceramic lustres, which apparently can be used on glass Rachel, think they fire at 800 C - is this what you mean?

If I can't find everything tonight, I should be able to tell you tomorrow, I can ask our ceramics technician at Uni.

Flyingcheesetoastie

Yeah, sorry I should of been more specific, it will probably be ceramic lustres I'll have to use.  I hope it's not 800 though as I wasn't planning to go that high with this piece...  I don't want a solid gold, more of a sheen.  I've found a supplier called Held of Harrogate which seems quite good, but not much information about hows and whys so I might call them in the morning as they have some products marked GLASS...

Any insight would be great as I'm shooting in the dark a bit and a wee bit annoyed that the client has gone down this path as I'd prefer to use techniques and materials I have experience with!

Zeldazog

What about Heraeus?

I remember when I was looking for further information about enamels, that they listed lustres (try saying that when your pi$$ed!)

http://www.heraeus-ceramiccolours.com/en/productsandapplications_1/glass/lustres/lustres_6.aspx