This Artist Blurb.....

Started by LampyLou, August 18, 2011, 06:50:17 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

LampyLou

I'm about to start selling some of my Lampwork jewellery in a local craft gallery.  They want some information about me.  I think they are expecting, "studied XYZ at art college", etc etc.  How do I say I've done a couple of one day workshops with Lush and have spent many hours practicing, or should I just aviod saying?  I have no other artistic background to fall back on.

On the one hand I've very proud of my progress, on the other when I look at the other people's "blurb" I feel very inadequate.

Any suggestions welcome.

Julia x

Lush!

I know exactly what you mean, Lou, I have no "proper" artistic background either - but that doesn't make us any less an artist  ;D

When I had to do something similar I emphasised the fact that my studio is local and talked about the process  rather than about me.

www.lushlampwork.etsy.com

Blue Box Studio

I think mine mentions self taught but still learning; several short intense courses (an evening class) and probably a lot more waffle.  I have had 2 galleries turn me down because I did not have a BA.  The fact that I knew one of their artsists who had a BA had it in something totally irrrelevant to her art didn't seem to matter, they liked to put BA after their artist's names.  From what I heard they sold BA for them so I think I was better off.  Like Julie says, talk about what and why you do, skip over the 10 degrees you already have and the fact you are a multi-millionaire, no one reads that bit anyway, it's you, what makes you tick and your passion that's important.
Sue
Website ~ Etsy ~ Blog ~ Flickr

Blue Box Studio