Everything you needed to know about ETCHING

Started by SueP, January 29, 2008, 06:14:18 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

SueP

I am so inspired by Sabine's fantastic etched beads I want to have a try at etching and anyway have plenty of fuglies that might be improved ;D

Any tips on the best way of dipping the beads? 

Also has anyone come across a list of glasses and their affinity (if that's the right word) for etching?

sparrow

Hi Sue, I'm flattered - I've never been an inspiration before ;) Etching is loads of fun (I would say that!) - I can't say I'm an expert, but there's a few things I've discovered - I use the etching liquid, rather than the cream, and your bead should be suspended in the liquid, rather than chucked in - if it toouches the sides, or the bottom, or another bead, it won't etch. Some more knowledgeable people will tell you more about what you can ad can't use to suspend, I use a length of sterling wire, plonk the bead on it, fashion a hook at the top and hang it over the rim of my etching container. I did ask somewhere which glass doesn't etch, and I think Terra (double helix) is the only definite, although there were one or two that etched unevenly. Something I noticed that was quite good to know is that the etching liquid will attack surface silver leaf & foil, but not so much wire. I etch my frosty beads for ages - sometimes over an hour - but you can get a nice satin-y sheen after about 5 minutes, it depends on the effect you want.....does that help? Have fun, and don't forget to post pics!!  :) :)
Sabine x

www.littlecastledesigns.co.uk www.facebook.com/littlecastledesigns Ring Top Tutorial

Donna@Rockin' Beads

Sabine, that helped me too. I've had a couple of etching sessions and was rather disappointed with the results. I didn't realise you could leave the bead in for an hour - that might help.

Stacy