Beginner buying new kiln - advice please

Started by smudges dad, April 27, 2016, 02:29:58 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

smudges dad

Apologies for the long post, but I am about to buy a kiln and start playing about with glass.  I know this post is like a lot of other requests, but my requirements are different.  I have no interest in bead making but want to do casting, fusing and slumping.  My wife is a picture framer and we have masses of scrap float glass so I intend to make paper weights and other castings to use it up and recycle it.  I have a budget of about £1,000 and want a kiln that is reliable and easy to maintain, get spare parts for and preferably built in the UK and needs to be a plug in type.  I also don't want to spend ridiculous amounts on delivery to the Highlands (yes, courier companies, we are part of the mainland!).  Comments would be appreciated.  I'm looking to order in June.  I have limited experience but have done a couple of courses and enjoyed them.  I would do further courses, but there are none in this area (West Highlands).

I've tried looking at the kilns available in the UK, and some sites like warmglass are easy to get information from, but Cherry Heaven / electric kilns is an absolute nightmare and some are even worse.  If people have notes on other kilns available in the UK I'd be interested in links.  A summary of what I've found is below:

Scutt Firebox 8 - £584 – probably too small
Paragon SC2 variants - £615-681 – too small again and shelf etc extra
Scutt Hotstart Pro - £814 +shelf – looks quite a good size and value, but I wonder whether a square kiln would be better
Scutt Firebox 14 - £994 – good size and seems extra space worth it for not a great deal extra cost
Kilncare Hobbyfuser 3 - £1513 – over budget but looks excellent
Rhode Glass Fusing Kiln 40 - £2149 + shelf – well over budget, but have not seen any revies of comments on it
Paragon Fusion CS16S - £1485 – very little information apart from size