AOTM January 2008 - Sarah Bedwell

Started by Isabelle, December 31, 2007, 05:16:22 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Isabelle

The Artist of the Month for January is:

Interview with Sarah Bedwell for Frit Happens.

When did you first become interested in bead making?
Spring 2006 not long after I started to make jewellery I found lampwork beads on ebay. I started buying & then wanted to make my own so my starter kit arrived in sumer 2006 and I haven't looked back since then. Almost every surface in the house has a bowl or pile of beads - I have a very patient husband.

What was it about bead making that particularly fascinated you?
I've loved glass for as long as I can remember and have all sorts of glass around the house - I've been collecting it for almost twenty years. When I discovered that I could fuse glass and make beads at home there was no looking back. With bead making it is the interaction with the hot glass that appeals - I've really enjoyed learning to work with it and coax it into to a shape or form. And I love the fact that whatever technique I learn there is always another out there waiting for me.

Have you taken any classes, and if so, with whom?
I have been lucky to train with Diana East, Kate Drew-Wilkinson and Sarah Hornik..
All the classes have given me an insight into how other bead makers work and helped me to develop techniques I was struggling with or wouldn't have tried on my own.  Classes are great fun and you always learn something from the other students as well as the tutors.

Whose beads have you found to be particularly inspiring, and why?
I first fell in love with Rebecca Wedell and Manda Muddimer's beads. I think it was their work that inspired me to begin making beads. Rebecca's precision is amazing and I love the way Manda works with colours.
Diana East has also been a great influence on me - she seems to meld science and art.