Can you make them?

Started by shafeenan, February 01, 2015, 04:50:51 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

shafeenan

Hope the heading gets lots of you looking!  I am a new fuse glass enthusiast but can't find glass bails anywhere. Except in the States, and I am in England.
It occurred to me that a lamp-worker might be able to make them - a sort of mini half donut bead with flat ends....?
Anyway, it might be an impossibility, but thought it worth asking. Ideally it would be good if they would fuse with bullseye, but if not, I guess I could stick them on?
Love to hear from anyone who'd be able to have a go and with a price if you could work that out too - sure there would be other fused glass makers here who would be interested....
message me at flights-of-fantasy@hotmail.com if  you'd prefer to do this quietly and not alert others to your pricing structure!
Thanks

SMHBuss

Can you post a picture of what you are looking for??

Carl

Nikki

I'm not an expert but I think the ones for sale on etsy are made with a torch. Just make a bead add an extra bit at one side and press with mashers, they have not even bothered to take out the chill makes on the ones for sale, they should be really easy to make for anyone working with COE 96

Trudi

Hi

I've made a couple and have them in the kiln. I've made sure that the back is flat so that it will sit flat on the kiln shelf too (the ones on the link didn't look flat). I won't clean them, all you'll need to do is place a piece of cocktail stick inside and that will burn away in the kiln.

If you pm me your address I'll send you them to try.

Does anyone know if you attach them with a full fuse .... I've never used them.

Trudi

Nb .. I made them with schott which is bullseye compatible ... But I do also have 94 and 96 glass

Zeldazog

The advise with the pre-made ones I bought from USA a few years ago, was a tack fuse - the glass is really too thin and small and area, and does what's called "dog-boning" if you full fuse it.